Vitalstatistix's Adhocracy 2017

Words by Freya Langley

Silent Key b.jpg

Local arthouse, Vitalstatistix, is back again with the eighth installment of their annual, keystone event, ‘Adhocracy.’ The multi-venue artist hothouse is a festival of ideas, meets intense art camp, meets magic house party. The jam-packed program spans across, Fontanelle, Hart's Mill and Waterside and features projects from local and national, established and emerging artists.

This year features over 35 artists, working on nine projects over the three days. Australian artists, SJ Norman, Sarah Rodigari and Mish Grigor have joined with Vitalstatistix and a team of seven South Australian local artists to develop and collaborate on this year’s project - Second Hand Emotions (SHE). In partnership with Fontanelle and FRAN festival, SHE is a process-driven, queer and discursive project responding to the provocation of ‘love and feminism’ - the theme of Fontanelle’s keynote exhibition during FRAN Festival. Meg Wilson and she/her persona “Wilson”’s durational performance, she will be challenging members of the public to games of squash, on a squash court she’s built herself at Hart’s Mill.

It all kicks off this Friday night at 4pm across Waterside, Fontanelle and Harts Mill and runs over the duration of the weekend (September 1-3). With a bar, food and dance party and the end, there’s no excuse not to go and bathe in the incredible works of such a carefully curated group of clever and thought-provoking artists. It’s only a gold coin donation to get in - check out the full program on their website.

Second Hand Emotions.jpg


Participating artists:

Alisdair Macindoe, Alison Currie, Ashton Malcolm, Belinda Gehlert, Ben-Hur Winter, Ben Brooker, Bridget Mackey, Bron Batten, Caitlin Comerford, Celeste Martin, Duane Morrison, Elliot Howard, Emma Beech, Emma Valente, Grace Marlow, Jennifer Greer Holmes, Josephine Were, Julia Drouhin, Kialea-Nadine Williams, Lewis Rankin, Liam Colgan, Lucy Slattery, Lz Dunn, Malcolm Whittaker, Martyn Coutts, Meg Wilson, Michelle Maddog Delaney, Mish Grigor, Phillipa Stafford, Rebecca Mayo, Rebecca Meston, Sarah Rodigari, Sarah-Jayde Tracey, SJ Norman, Stephanie Lyall, Suzannah Kennett Lister, Tiyan Baker and Valerie Berry.