South Australian Music Awards: photos and winners at Thebby Theatre

Photos by Wade Whitington


It's been a hell of a year for SA music, and what a time it was celebrating it on Thursday night at Thebarton Theatre. Congratulations to all the nominees, winners, performers and everyone who the 2017 South Australian Music Awards possible. We're constantly impressed with the music being created in this state and have huge respect for those behind the scenes who help make it happen.

Catch all the winners and photos below.


Blues/Roots Award - Wanderers
Country Award - The Bitter Darlings
Electronic Award - Abbey Howlett
Experimental Award - Timberwolf
Folk Award - The Winter Gypsy
Heavy Award - Ice On Mercury
Hip Hop Award - A.B. Original
Jazz/Art Music Award - Ross McHenry
Pop Award - Rachael Leahcar
Punk Award - Young Offenders
Rock Award - Bad//Dreems
World Music Award - Adam Page


Ryan Freeman Live Music Award - Robert Dunstan
Best International Collaboration - House of Songs project
Lifetime Achievement Award - The Governor Hindmarsh Hotel
Best Studio - Chapel Lane Studios
Best Engineer - Tom Barnes
Best Music Festival / Event - Porch Sessions
Best Music Venue - Grace Emily Hotel
Best Manager - Craig Lock
Best Cover Art - Henry Stentiford
Best Music Video - Richard Coburn - A.B. Original, “January 26th”
Best Song - A.B. Original, “January 26th” featuring Dan Sultan
Best New Artist - Heaps Good Friends
Best Aboriginal or Torres Strait Island Artist - A.B. Original
Best Group - A.B. Original
Best Male Artist - DyspOra
Best Female Artist - Tkay Maidza
Best Release - A.B. Original, Reclaim Australia